Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Disco Dance Light
Hi All.  Let me introduce myself.

I am a beginner in electronics.  Started really getting into it a year ago.  Thanks to dipmicro I have over come the introductory hurdle.  Judging by what I have read here in the forums.  I have got a really long way to go.  

Anyway I would like to contribute to the forum and post the second project I have made.  The first I have completed.

My wife and I like to have a few drinks on occasion and dance together.  She bought a disco ball at the dollar store for $3.  I thought cool and shinned lights on it and such, but the thing is pretty much useless unless it spins.  At the same time I was getting into the arduino.   I thought I could spin that ball with a stepper motor and shine lights onto it.
I bought the all the parts from dipmicro, and I used the code they supplied on their website with slight modifications to run the stepper motor.  I paralleled 10 extrabright white led's that flash a few times a second, and I hooked up two large rgb leds (that change color periodically) into a flower type mirror I found at the dollar store.   I stored the whole circuit into an old router case, and hung the ball on the motor.   
I also tried to use an audio sensor I bought at dipmicro to try to get the white leds to flash to the beat, but I was unsuccessful in doing so.

Here is a pic of my dance light in my garage.  Notice the house spider web on the ball.   The thing lights up alot brighter then my exposure shows.  The walls and the floor show the reflected light very well.  I thought to cut the exposure time short so as not to show star trails.

[img][Image: _DSC6698_1.jpg][/img]